Advisory Committee

The Ireland-Wales 2014-2020 Programme is governed by the Welsh European Funding Office (WEFO).

CHERISH is overseen by an Advisory Committee of leading experts and key stakeholders in climate change, coastal and maritime archaeology. The role of the Advisory Committee is to provide objective and expert advice, guidance and comment on the methods, objectives and direction of CHERISH.

Advisory Committee members:

  • Dr Jacqui Mulville, Reader in Bioarchaeology , School of History, Archaeology and Religion, Cardiff University
  • Peter Cox, Carrig Conservation Ltd & President of the ICOMOS National Scientific Committee on Energy Sustainably and Climate Change (NSCES+CC)
  • Professor James Scourse, Professor of Physical Geography, University of Exeter
  • Tom Dawson, Manager of the SCAPE Trust, Scotland
  • Dr Clive Walmsley, Senior Climate Change Advisor, Natural Resources Wales
  • Dr Stephen Mandal, Irish Archaeology Field School
  • Ian Doyle, Head of Conservation, Heritage Council of Ireland
  • Beatrice Kelly, Head of Policy, Heritage Council of Ireland
  • Pauline Gleeson, Senior Archaeologist, National Monuments Service, Ireland
  • Karl Brady, Senior Archaeologist at the Underwater Archaeology Unit, National Monuments Service, Ireland
  • Edmund Bridge, Coastal Engineer, Office of Public Works, Ireland
  • John Cahill, Assistant Principal Architect, Office of Public Works, Ireland

The full Advisory Committee comprises Dr Jacqui Mulville, Reader in Bioarchaeology at Cardiff University; Polly Groom, Inspector of Ancient Monuments and Archaeology at Cadw, Professor James Scourse, Professor of Physical Geography at the University of Exeter; Tom Dawson, manager of the SCAPE Trust in Scotland;  Dr Clive Walmsley, Senior Climate Change Advisor at Natural Resources Wales; Professor Gabriel Cooney, School of Archaeology, University College Dublin; Ian Doyle, Head of Conservation and Beatrice Kelly, Head of Policy and Research at The Heritage Council of Ireland; Pauline Gleeson, Senior Archaeologist and Karl Brady from the Underwater Archaeology Unit of The National Monuments Service, Ireland; Rosemary Lawlor, Edmund Bridge and John Cahill from the Office of Public Works in Ireland.Members of the Advisory Commitee at the first project meeting